How can I enter text in the Task Description column?

Tomas Martinez

07 Dec, 2016 02:34 AM

Love Timelime, I have been using it for several years now.

I cannot find a way to enter data on the last column to the right "Task Description".

Thank you.

Tomas

1. Support Staff 1 Posted by Niko on 07 Dec, 2016 08:27 AM

Hi Thomas,

Thank you for using Timelime for such a long time!

If you right-click on a task and select ‘Get Info’, you’ll see a field ‘description’. Whatever you fill in there goes into the ‘Get Info’ field of the CSV export.

Thank you,
    Niko

2. 2 Posted by Tomas Martinez on 07 Dec, 2016 01:39 PM

Niko:

I did it and yes, whatever I put on the "Get Info" field on a Task, appears on the “Task Description” column in the CVS report, but being on the Task, it became a repeating field which makes no sense. It would be nice to have Time Notes, AND Task Description for each entry.

Thank you

3. Support Staff 3 Posted by Niko on 07 Dec, 2016 09:41 PM

Hey Thomas,

Yes, if you have a lot of timings from the same task in your CSV, it makes no sense to include the "Task Description" field in the CSV.

I don't quite understand what you mean by "It would be nice to have Time Notes, AND Task Description for each entry."
    As it is now, you can turn on/off the "Timing Notes" field and the "Task Description" field individually for the CSV export.
    Would you like to have an individual task description for each timing?

4. 4 Posted by Tomas Martinez on 08 Dec, 2016 12:21 PM

Niko:

On second thoughts I think that probably the header Time Notes / Task Description and then the next column called also Task Description is a little bit misleading. Probably a I will prefer using Time Notes just as Time Notes and have a switch to turn off the column Task Description if you wish.

I have learned more about Timelime. Thanks for your nice and quick support Niko, you have a great product!

Tomas

5. Support Staff 5 Posted by Niko on 08 Dec, 2016 12:44 PM